

ALD. COGGS

Member

*

4/9/2027

Department Details

Department name:	VEL R PHILLIPS TRAILBLAZER AWARD SELECTION COMMITTEE				
Туре:	Board or Commission				
Meeting time:					
Meeting location:					
Primary contact:					
Description:	PURPOSE: The Vel R. Phillips Trailblazer Award Selection Committee is responsible for selecting recipients of the Vel R. Phillips Trailblazer Award, which recognizes City residents who best exemplify Vel R. Phillips' legacy of social justice and civic accomplishment. The award is annual and is presented at the Girls' Day event held at City Hall. The committee may accept award nominations from any common council member, member of the public, or organization.				
	COMPOSITION: Seven members: One member of the Common Council appointed by Common Council President, one member of the CIty of Milwaukee Youth Council appointed by the Mayor, three additional members appointed by the Common Council President, and two members appointed by the Mayor. The Common Council President designates the chair and vice-chair. Appointments to this body require Common Council confirmation.				
	Members serve three-year terms.				
	A member who is not an elected official continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.				
	CREATING AUTHORITY: Section 320-44, Milwaukee Code of Ordinances and #17149				
	SALARY: n/a				
	STAFFING: Joanna Polanco, Office of the City Clerk, 286-2366, jpolan@milwaukee.gov				
	LAST UPDATED: January 10, 2019				
Name	Title Sta	rt Date	End Date		

4/9/2024

Michael Phillips	s Member	1/8/2019	1/8/2022	*	
Appointed By: ALD. HAMILTON					
Mildred Coby	Member	1/22/2019	1/22/2022	*	
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett				
Peggy Rozga	Member	12/5/2018	12/5/2021	*	
Appointed By:	ALD. HAMILTON				

^{*} indicates extended term